Ready to turn 30

For lots of reasons, I have welcomed 30 with open arms. 

It probably has much to do with the fact that most everyone I know here is older than me. It seems totally normal and cool to be in your 30s. In fact, I know some pretty wonderful people in their 70s, so I have no dread of a number. Do I dread my body falling apart and failing me, yes. A few episodes of restless leg were enough to make me loathe the idea of my body going awry. But a simple number signifying my time on this earth is no problem. 

I am more myself now than I have ever felt and hope to continue to grow into myself. That can only come from years with the Lord, so bring it. 

I also felt totally celebrated by my family and friends, and my husband completely outdid himself. 

I am definitely a birthday diva. (I hope I have many birthdays left to mature in this area). But I may have mentioned to Rob that I wanted more than a dinner date to celebrate my 30th. I really wanted to do something out of the ordinary, and he certainly delivered. Beyond beyond beyond. 

He planned an amazing birthday weekend for us in Boston and did not spare a penny! Sometimes the pennies aren’t there, and that’s ok. But sometimes the pennies are there and your husband showers them on you, and it feels extravagant and oozes special and makes for the best 30th I could have ever dreamed up. 

My mom and Frank popped up to keep the kids, who were thrilled with that plan, and Rob and I flew off to enjoy the weekend. 

The things I would like to remember are the food-out of this world, the segway tour-such an adventure, and the last of fall and all its beauty-perfect weather!IMG_0372 IMG_0376 IMG_0389 IMG_0392 IMG_0395 IMG_0415 DSC_0002 DSC_0010 DSC_0015 DSC_0055 DSC_0066 IMG_0435 IMG_0442 IMG_0455 IMG_0458      IMG_0472 IMG_0464IMG_0465IMG_0466IMG_0467IMG_0468IMG_0477 IMG_0488  IMG_0503 IMG_0527IMG_0515 IMG_0497Boston is one of the coolest cities I have ever been to. It is incredibly clean and historic and charming and awesome. I saw only one homeless person. So they are doing something right. 

It was a huge treat to have that time with Rob to dine and relax and sight see. I probably could have read my book the whole time and been happy, but I am so glad he took me to such a fun spot with so much to see and do and eat. 

4 thoughts on “Ready to turn 30

Leave a Reply

