Short but sweet

As my family can attest to, I am a freak about time change. And it’s one of those things, where I know I am being neurotic, and I can’t even stop. Whenever I travel, I am always assuming that my children and I are still on our old time.

For example, it can be 10:30am at my mom’s house, and I will be just convinced that we have to eat, because it feels like 11:30 to our bodies. Or I put the kids to bed super early, because surely they are tired since their bodies are telling them it’s 7:30 their time. Then, as is to be expected, they wake up at the crackety crack, dawn of time. This does not result in enjoyable moods, for anyone, mainly me.

But recently I read something about how to deal with jet lag, and I applied it to our travel situation (laughable, I know!). It said, essentially, that your circadian clock will sync with your “food clock.” So this trip, I gave it a try and decided to have the kids eat their meals according to the time zone we were actually in!  (Rob is laughing right now reading this, I’m sure.)

It really changed the travel experience. They slept until their normal times, and everyone had a fighting chance to be the best forms of themselves.

Can you believe all that was to preface that we just took a little trip to see family, and it was the best long weekend ever! I mean, the best. The flights, with Rob with us, were seamless, and the days spent with grandparents were bliss.

As Ev gets older, I can see the way she treasures her relationships with them. She and Brother both were completely comfortable and thrilled to be with all of them, and Ev said several times that she did not want to leave! Talk about pulling at your heartstrings.

We were able to see both sets of grandparents as we hopped from one interview for a hospitalist position over to Rob’s ten year high school reunion. In between all of that we were able to squeeze in a visit to a pumpkin patch, the children’s museum, time at the park, and lots of great food. IMG_9802 IMG_9806 IMG_9812 IMG_9817 IMG_9823 IMG_9826 IMG_9828 IMG_9840 IMG_9842 IMG_9844 IMG_9847 IMG_9853 IMG_9855 IMG_9861 IMG_9866 IMG_9869 IMG_9875 IMG_9877 IMG_9880 IMG_9889 IMG_9892 IMG_9908 IMG_9914 IMG_9921 IMG_9927 IMG_9934 IMG_9961 IMG_9963 IMG_9964 IMG_9969 IMG_9971 IMG_9977 IMG_9981 IMG_9985This last picture is a little exhibit at the museum where you compete to be more relaxed than your opponent. I would certainly lose. To anyone. But I do feel that this trip was the most relaxed I have ever been while away from our nest. We had a really great time and miss our families already!! There’s no place like home.

6 thoughts on “Short but sweet

  1. Would you dare not giving your child breakfast till noon? I read that article too and am thinking of applying it to our Dec trip. Don’t know if I will have the nerve, though… Glad you had such a delightful trip!

  2. I like the idea of a “food clock”. Kind of how we set baby’s schedules too! Glad y’all had a good trip, but we are already looking forward to your next trip southward (maybe we will be able to come up and see you)!

Leave a Reply

