Walk in them

“For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.” Eph. 2:10IMG_9610IMG_9606IMG_9600I am in such a “soak it up” season right now. I don’t know if I have ever experienced peace like this. Contentment like this. Joy like this.

I guess I have always had, in the crevices of my heart, this gnawing thought that if I really gave every practical piece of my life to the Lord that I would just be tortured. Surely He will just wreck all my plans and take all my stuff and steal all my fun. Surely.

BUT I think what He really wants to do is change me. Use me. And give me deep, deep, abiding life. I mean, that’s just exactly what He says actually. I don’t even have to speculate.

And I am here to say, right now, that His ways are good. His plans are better. He goes with us when He asks us to go. I am learning that in commanding us to go forth with good works, He is only inviting us to join His redemption story. And He prepares the way.

He went before us into this neighborhood. He prepared the hearts of our neighbors. And He is changing me. It’s really like a blind person slowly gaining sight. My vision has been so very cloudy. And slowly, slowly a few things are starting to come into focus. And I am so grateful.

And I just want more. More of Him, more of others, and more of His kingdom. It’s exciting. Best ride I’ve ever been on.

Great things He hath taught us, great things He hath done. And great our rejoicing through Jesus the the Son; but purer and higher and greater will be, our wonder, our transport, when Jesus we see.”

2 thoughts on “Walk in them

  1. I love that hymn and the reference to heaven. I just read the passage about Rahab where she said that “the Lord your God is God in heaven above and on earth beneath.” I’m so glad you are experiencing that up-close.

Leave a Reply

