Diary of a three year old

IMG_9384 IMG_9392 IMG_9393 IMG_9395 IMG_9396Folding. Her new passion. She asked me the other day if I would teach her how to fold. And she quickly got the hang of it. She is neat and meticulous and gets it all stacked up just right. She begs for new laundry to fold now. Happy Day!

Of course her little sidekick wanted to help, to which she said:

He’s not good at folding.

(Me) Well, everyone has different abilities, and there are going to be some things that you can do that other people can’t do, and there are going to be some things that other people can do that you don’t know how to do. 

No, I can do everything.

Yikes.

The other day in the car she was flipping through a kids magazine that had an article with lots of pictures of a boy driving a little race car. 

E: Mom, is he trained to ride a race car?

Me: Yes.

E: Am I trained to ride a race car?

Me: Um, no.

E: How old is that boy?

Me: Uh, ten. 

E: Yeah, when I’m ten I’m gonna ride a race car.

After Brother Bear waking her up at the crack, she wandered into my room and said:

I’m cold, and I am fru-stah-rated.

I hear ya, girl.

Her go to statement when Brother does something she doesn’t like:

You are stealing my joy, Bud.

After picking her up from childcare at the gym:

Momma, I was worried about you. I sat on a pillow and thinked about you. I thought and thought and thought. 

So sweet.

She is very into me telling her stories recently. They don’t have to be complicated. In fact, they are very very simple, but she loves them. She always gives me a prompt. 

Momma, can you tell me a story of a little girl dancing and twirling and licking her ice cream?

And lastly, as I sat down to write this post:

Me: I’m looking for my camera. Have you seen it?

E: No, but I bet its helping its camera friends!

Two things that stand out to me about this age are her energy and enthusiasm. They know no bounds.

She savors all her experiences, memories, and friendships.

She has incredible memory and attention to detail. She helps me remember stuff. I’ll ask her to remind me about something, and she always always will remember to do it.

The other day we were driving through the area of town where her dentist’s office is, and she said, “Mom, I think you need to call and get my teeth cleaned.” I had just gotten an email saying that she was due for a cleaning, so, that was weird. Also, odd because the last visit to the dentist was drama trauma.

But I called and made the appointment, and she was so excited. I remained confused, but hopeful that the appointment would go better than last time. And sure enough, we went today, and she was a doll. She brought her elephant puppet with her, because she said elephant needed her teeth cleaned too. The precious, wonderful hygienist kindly cleaned and inspected elephant first. Then Ev went without a tear or a worry. Picked out her watermelon flavored fluoride and never looked back. I grabbed my phone to document the miracle.photo photo2She’s a pretty special three year old, and I am so proud of her.

4 thoughts on “Diary of a three year old

  1. Such a great post. It is fun to get a glimpse of her thought processes. Amazing. Secondly, did your dentist meet Nola? Looks like he has a pretty cool rubber band bracelet.

  2. I love these posts (let’s be real – I love all your posts). What a big girl! And how sweet of the hygienist to clean elephant’s teeth!

Leave a Reply

