What Jesus’ ministry means for us

Thought I should put it all out there in the title.

You just never know what you’re gonna get on this ole blog. One day I’m typing about beach trip debacles and fourth of July festivities, and the next thing ya know: Jesus. Let’s talk about him.

I am so blown over by the things I am seeing, learning, and experiencing that they must be typed. It’s how I process.

Let’s start with Jesus’ prayer in John 17. It floors me. Here are some snippets: v. 11 I am no longer in the world, but they are in the world…v. 18 As you have sent me into the world, so I have sent them into the world…v. 26 I made known to them your name, and I will continue to make it known, that the love with which you have loved me may be in them, and I in them. 

He left. But He stayed. Jesus left us here to continue His ministry. Like, the exact same one that He started. It is, in fact, the only reason I can figure that we are not raptured to glory the moment we are justified. He has left us here to be a part of the “making all things new,” in ourselves and in the world, His kingdom to bring forth.

Now I believe, that those of us who have faith in Christ as Savior would all agree that we are to be the hands and feet of Jesus. It’s a thing. We have all heard it and can get on board with it. But here’s the thing, I don’t think it’s intended to be part time. I’ve been all, “Can I get an order of living for myself with a little hands and feet of Jesus on the side?” It’s subtle, but it’s there. And what I am learning is that continuing the ministry of Jesus is a full time gig.

In the last six months we have begun to explore, as a couple, what it means to be willing and obedient to do the work that Jesus started. And we have made a discovery. It requires everything. The Christian life asks for everything. It’s like total invasion. He wants our home, our money, our children, our family plan, our jobs, our friendships, and all of our living days. Whew, that’s alot! But aren’t they all gifts from Him in the first place?

EBug is very into the moon’s phases. She is always spotting the moon in the sky and asking, “Is it a gibbous or a cwescent moon?” I love analogies. Love them. So here’s this, if God is the sun and we are the moon reflecting Him, how much room are we giving his light?

I know that I for one have been giving him a crescent. And I’ve said, “Lord, here is a crescent of my life. You can have total dominion over it, use it however you wish, fill it up, and shine like crazy.” And what I’m realizing is He wants more. He wants the whole darn moon. He wants our entire lives. And I am beginning to believe that what He really wants to do can’t be contained within a crescent anyway.

When I first started wondering if our life lined up with the heart of Jesus and His ministry, I asked that He show me one thing He would have me to do. I wanted one small step to take, that would help me to see the way that He wanted to use our gifts and resources to mend a broken place. He graciously honored that prayer. And I started to see homeless people everywhere. Like, really see them. I googled ‘homeless shelter,’ and boy did He take it from there!

I could type for days about all that has happened in our lives and hearts since that moment of, “Maybe we will give you more than a crescent, Lord.” But suffice it to say, we serve a God in motion. A living, active Mover. His work is to heal, restore, bind up the broken, and He is inviting us to get on board.

So in the spirit of getting in motion, we are making a little move of our own. The Lord has been beckoning us to come and see. To cross paths with a world that is hurting right under our noses. We want to learn, in a new way, what it means to live Jesus’ words to love your neighbor.

We believe He has made this next step for us clear. We feel called to a very specific neighborhood, and the Lord has graciously opened and closed doors to direct us to the very spot He has for us to live. We are excited and nervous to see what happens from here.

I have a feeling this is just the beginning.

4 thoughts on “What Jesus’ ministry means for us

  1. Catching up on your blog! It’s been ages. Turns out, there was reason for me to notice Rob’s reply to one of Ed’s status updates and think, “wonder how the Bradshers are doing?” What an encouragement.

  2. Pingback: Thankful for far-away friends that still offer much needed encouragement… | By Grace for His Glory

Leave a Reply

