Is it still the four of July?

This is what EBug asked me when she woke up from her forced nap. We made her lie down from 6 to 7, so that we would have some hope of a rational human until the 9:30 fireworks.

I am always always tempted to forgo things that might be logistical nightmares in terms of child management. Just mainly, I avoid things that mean my children won’t be in their beds at the proper time. It’s a fault, for sure. That’s where the fun parent comes in. Thank goodness for him. He’s the only reason we’ve ever done anything past 7:30pm.

We had a fantastic morning celebrating the birth of our country as well as the birthday of a precious little friend. I have no pictures of this, which upsets me, because that means it’s like it didn’t happen. But for real, we had such a fun time. Wonderful friends.

Then later in the day, we enjoyed pizza in the park before watching the city fireworks atop the Daddy-Man’s place of work. And I have to say, past the hour of seven pm, Brother Bear becomes a complete doll baby. And EBug, presh til about 8:30.
IMG_8211IMG_8092 IMG_8099 IMG_8102 IMG_8108 IMG_8110 IMG_8114 IMG_8120 IMG_8133 IMG_8139 IMG_8142 IMG_8152 IMG_8157 IMG_8159 IMG_8162 IMG_8167 IMG_8173 IMG_8182 IMG_8188 IMG_8192 IMG_8193 IMG_8196  IMG_8217 IMG_8227 IMG_8228 IMG_8229 IMG_8230 IMG_8236It was a wonderful day and evening.

Shout-out to Susu and Pops for the munchkins’ festive attire!! And shouts to my in-law family, because every year on the fourth I get a little lump in my throat missing them. We have celebrated some really memorably fun fourths with them. Best ribs I will ever, ever eat. And I just can’t wait for that to be a reality again one year soon!

One thought on “Is it still the four of July?

  1. I remember eating ribs in LR one year with all of you. And going downtown for the fireworks. The kids look really cute!

Leave a Reply

