How to take a stress-free day trip with your Littles in tow

IMG_6012 I mean, truly, is there even such a thing? I have no idea how to take a stress-free any sort of trip with my Littles! I am hoping someone can shed some light on this for me.

For me the answer is get a new personality! I’m shocked I haven’t gotten a kidney stone from how stressed I get about my kids being off their schedules. I need to see a counselor.

Because the truth is that nothing stressful even happened. I kept saying things to Rob like, “We have to hurry and take this picture, so we can grab a quick lunch and be back on the Metro by such and such a time.” And he would say, “Or else what? Is someone going to spontaneously combust?”

I really want to learn how to chill about these sorts of breaks in routine, because the pay-off is huge.

We woke yesterday morning and headed off on our cherry blossom adventure. The trees were insane. Just gorgeous. Breathe-taking. We will be going back, for sure, for sure. IMG_6023 IMG_6024 IMG_6029 IMG_6031 IMG_6039 My biggest piece of advice to my future-self is not to try and do too much. When you visit a cool city, you can get sort of A.D.D. There are so many great options for fun. But sometimes in rushing to the next thing, you can miss out on savoring an experience.

Next year, I am definitely going to just take my kids out on that paddle boat and stare at the trees all morning. Nothing else. IMG_6044 IMG_6045 IMG_6048 IMG_6049 IMG_6057 And my second piece of advice to myself, a very very close second, is do not forget the sippy cups! So much regret. IMG_6002“I don’t think we need to take the double stroller.”  -RobIMG_6068 IMG_6069 Oh my goodness, these two have been totally melting my heart. E has been so sweet with little Brother, and he absolutely adores her. IMG_6075 IMG_6076 A few school groups had similar plans. Bus heaven.IMG_6078 The museums in DC can not be beat. They are just so cool!IMG_6083 IMG_6088 There was a little discovery room that the kids loved, because you could touch stuff.

I don’t have a picture of this (which is alarming and hard to believe!), but EBug was precious carrying around some binoculars and a book about mammals saying that they were her “tools for exp-ya-ying.”IMG_6094 Can you see what’s in the case? Bless. He and his Gpoppa are kindred souls.IMG_6100 IMG_6101 We stumbled upon a really pretty, refreshing fountain. IMG_6103 IMG_6125 IMG_6130 IMG_6131 My little treasure of a boy. I love him so so much. IMG_6134 For lunch Rob did some quick research (we are always wingin’ it) and found us the perfect spot. It was called Lobster Lukes, and it was seafood per-fec-tion. IMG_6136 IMG_6142 Brother Bear was a bit indecisive and inconsolable at the restaurant. Fun. So we gave him a pickle and let him wander around. Within reason. IMG_6144 IMG_6148 IMG_6151Both kids did a fab job all day. Brother Bear did take a short stroller nap for about 30 minutes in the morning which helped him make it through. E really does not take a nap everyday anymore, so she is fine to skip. Although she fell asleep as soon as we got in the car.

After reflecting on the trip, I have some final sentiments for myself. One, have super super low realistic expectations. Pick one main thing you want to do and make sure to really soak it up. Two, thoughtfully plan beforehand and then relax.

And lastly…DC, I heart you. You are so legit. I’m sorry I was so rude to you back in high school when I thought I was too cool for history. Can’t wait to visit again soon!

4 thoughts on “How to take a stress-free day trip with your Littles in tow

  1. Your pictures are incredible! I need to make a note to visit yall this time next year! I want to go to DC. Also, When did brother bear turn into a little boy? I can’t handle it. Love big sister by the fountain!

  2. Love it! 🙂 We ventured to DC on Saturday and I plan to go earlier next year since we missed the trees in full bloom.

Leave a Reply

