Should everything just be put into a pie?

I know I’ve been Bloggy McBloggerson lately. Apparently I have too much to say. But today I am writing simply for preservation, so that I will never ever ever forget this recipe.

Winter has been eternal. I think everywhere. And we are all more than ready for a little sun, a little green, a sign of life. But as I was dinking around on Pinterest, I came across the idea of putting beef stew into a pie, and I was the tiniest bit happy that it was still stew weather.IMG_5617Maybe everyone everywhere knows that this is the best way to eat stew, but it has never crossed my radar. I think I’m just going to start putting everything I cook into a pie crust just to be safe.

I modified the recipe I found, which doesn’t usually bode well for me, but this was a total success, so I am writing down exactly what I did and plan to stay true to it forever.

Cook 4 slices of bacon in a large skillet. (Insert joke from my in-laws here)

Set bacon aside and use the grease to brown the stew meat on each side. (No need to cook meat all the way through at this point. Just a quick browning.) Set meat aside.

Cook sliced onion, carrots, and mushrooms in the same pan. (I also added a pat of butter while cooking these, because as the PW would say, “It’s the right thing to do.”) Cook these veggies for about 15 minutes.

Then add some garlic and cook for about a minute.

Pour in some red wine to deglaze the pan. Used Cab Sav for this, because that is always always always what I have on hand. Favorite.

Add the meat and crumbled bacon back to the pan (it needs to be a big pan), and add 1 cup beef stock, 1 tbsp worcestershire sauce, some thyme, some basil, and some brown sugar. Bring to a boil.

Reduce heat to low and simmer covered for about 1.5 hours. This is when the meat gets really tender, so don’t skimp on the time.

At the end of the simmering, I added a small cornstarch/water solution to thicken it a tad.

Then pour the stew mixture into a pie crust and sprinkled some cheddar cheese on top.

Add the second pie crust to the top, brush with egg/water solution, and vent.

Bake in a 350 degree oven for 30-40 minutes.

I don’t know the precise measurements I used for some of the ingredients, so just be smart about it. That’s why cooking trumps baking every single time.

I served it with sweet corn. From a can. A really affordable way to get some veggies on your plate! If I go to a lot of trouble on the main dish, then I am not going to cook a taxing side item. Actually I never cook taxing side items. Actually I rarely cook side items at all. So corn from a can was generous!

If you are still having unfortunately low temps like we are, please go make this. It will make things so much better.

And as usual, Brother Bear chowed down, and EBug avoided eye contact with it until given permission to be excused. You win some, you lose some.

4 thoughts on “Should everything just be put into a pie?

  1. BACON = ALLISON…you are living up to our expectations. Will you consider making that pie when I get to visit. You may be Bloggy McBloggerson but when I get to work each day, I look to your blog before I look to anything else because you do it so well. As has been said previously in a different topic, “Will you marry my son”?

  2. I love it that this “girl” who barely stayed home to eat is now purposing to be home to invent! It sounds so yummy & wonderful like you.

Leave a Reply

