When the Brokenness is Suffocating

All I can think about is Newtown. Those children, those families, those teachers. I literally can not blog, can not think, can not function without it on the forefront of my mind.

We watched a rerun of our favorite show, Shark Tank, last night, and after watching I realized that it was the longest I had gone without thinking about the shooting. 40 minutes.

We are all sick to our stomachs. The evil just feels like too much.

I pray and I pray and I pray for those parents. How are they getting up today? How are they facing this world after being that touched by darkness?

I pray for the other children. The things they can not un-see or un-know. Their innocence lost.

I’m thankful for my babies. I’m thankful for the gift of each safe day and night. They are just not to be taken for granted. I am thankful today that I don’t have to explain to them that this life is so corrupt. Yet.

I realize that one day I will have to have conversations with them that are going to be hard. We live in an intensely broken place, and it’s not on the upswing.

This mess of a place is going to continue to atrophy. It ain’t slowing down.

And what just blows my mind, as I think about all that Christmas means for us as believers, is that Jesus came to this disgusting place. For us. I want to high tail it out of here! And He was in glory! He was in a perfect, beautiful, holy Heaven. He didn’t have to step into this nightmare. But He did. Not only did He choose to come live here, but He came knowing what lay in store for Him. Knowing that HE would be murdered. That unspeakable evil wanted to destroy Him.

Thank you, Jesus. Thank you for coming here. I can’t understand that kind of love. Thank you for coming into our brokenness. For coming into our hearts. For changing us and freeing us from evil. And, Jesus, we ask that you come quickly. We look back at the first advent, and we’re thankful. And we look to the second advent and we long. This year more than any other, we long for your deliverance. Come quickly, Lord.

2 thoughts on “When the Brokenness is Suffocating

Leave a Reply

