Preschool Playgroup

My absolute favorite thing on our calendar right now is preschool playgroup.

It has been a joy/dream realized. Everyone here sends their kids to preschool. Like straight outta the womb. I could not believe how early people started asking me where I was sending EBug to preschool. Almost as crazy as this. (Rob and I watched this documentary over the weekend, and it was fascinating the lengths people in NYC go to in order to get their toddlers into the most elite preschools.)

Anyway, formal preschool is not in the cards for us for so many reasons. I knew my friend, Erin, was in the same boat and had also been an elementary school teacher. So we decided that EBug and her son, M, (a week apart in age) were ready for some structured learning in their lives, and formed our own preschool of sorts.

We meet each Monday to go through lessons focusing on one letter and one number. We take turns planning the lessons each week, so I plan every other week. Erin and I are so on the same page. It is like having the perfect tennis partner. It is equally fun to be the one to plan the lesson as well as to be the one who just participates.At two and a half they still require alot of assistance and help staying on track. I do not know how preschool teachers keep 10 or more kids all focused on an activity. E and M are really curious and love learning and we still have to rein them in sometimes.We always have a snack that coordinates with the letter. This is, for sure, their favorite part of the lesson.Putting the cupcakes into the cat made out of a can.We also work on a number each week. Both children can count very well, but the harder skill is associating the name of the number with actual amounts. We also want them to become familiar with writing the number and recognizing each word.

I am so pleased with how pp is going. It is already a highlight of our fall. EBug is learning SO much. I knew she was a sponge, and now she is always wanting to identify the sound at the beginning of a word, “Momma, that’s buh buh Buddy. Buddy starts with B!”

And she loves sweet M. She gets so excited when I tell her it’s preschool playgroup day!

It has also given me so much satisfaction as a teacher and as a mom. There will always be a part of me that needs to plan a lesson and teach a skill. It’s just in me. And as a mom, I am so thankful to have this opportunity each week to have intentional time with E. I am always seeing crafts and activities on Pinterest that I want to do with her, but it’s just somehow hard to make the time to buy the supplies and do them. This setup gives me the accountability I need to give her structured instruction.

Here are a few of the sites we use for ideas, just in case any other mommas out there are curious:

Totally Tots

Tot School (for the dot letters)

Dot Markers

Each week we read these awesome books.

Confessions of a homeschooler

I know there are probably more sites that I have used and will use. There is a mountain of ideas out there!

Special thanks to my mom who did this for me and my friends (with her mom friends) when I was little, and I still remember it!

6 thoughts on “Preschool Playgroup

  1. Sweet pea…looks like she is having a great time! Yep….BLESS pre-school teachers!!

    On Tue, Oct 23, 2012 at 6:52 PM, Expect a Bright Tomorrow wrote:

    > ** > expectabrighttomorrow posted: “My absolute favorite thing on our > calendar right now is preschool playgroup. It has been a joy/dream > realized. Everyone here sends their kids to preschool. Like straight outta > the womb. I could not believe how early people started asking me where I > wa”

  2. I am SO impressed!! My mouth is hanging open…you got it going on! What an awesome mommy to be such a good teacher! This is so awesome!

Leave a Reply

